Dog IQ

Hoppy EasterIf you’ve followed us for a while, you know how I’m always remarking that Sam is a bit of a doofus. We recently took a Dog IQ test and discovered (at least where treats are in the mix) this sweet goofball hound scored mostly high on this test. To say you could have blown me away would be quite an understatement. I’ve always pegged Sam as a pretty dumb pooch. Maybe today’s test was an anomaly, and maybe Sam is just more stubborn than dumb, either way, I guess it’s a good thing to realize he isn’t as retarded simple minded as I thought he was!

While he’s still no Einstein, he is a lovable mutt and both the patients and I sure love him and I’ll take that any day! 🙂 I’m in Mexico now but I’ll be home soon to share some thoughts about traveling.

Live, love, bark!

19 thoughts on “Dog IQ

  1. camparigirl

    My dogs scored super high on the test! (by the way, thanks for getting me up from my chair after two hours of sitting). I have seen them solve complex problems such as finding the shortest or the easiest route to where they want to go, rearranging their beds to get a better view, moving pillows out of the way, opening doors etc etc and I am amazed anew every time (and I am sure Sam does that too).

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. My Golden Life

    I’ve always said that dogs are smart enough to know when and how to make us humans think they are dumb. My Dad — when he was still with us (physically) — called my dogs “Dummy” all the time, as he proceeded to give them far too many treats. I’d laugh and say “who’s the dummy here, Pops? You’re the one giving THEM the treats.” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. easyweimaraner

    I bet to be a bit of a doofus is part of his plan… laughing humans = treats… think that’s what Albert tried to say with his theory of relativity :o) Many thanks for your wonderful card, it helped to smile with your instruction while the twin of the Marquis de Sade tortured my momma :o)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Tails Around the Ranch Post author

      There are different ones; the one I used is at the link. When you cover the treat and have a couple other shells you mix them up to see if they can easily find the one with the treat. Sam learned with the colored eggs that he could turn them all over and not have to “think” about it because there’d be a payoff eventually. Silly dog or genius…I’m not sure which! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

We love hearing from you...so leave a paw print!

